Recent Articles
Drew Doggett on his art and photography
Meet the Artist
Drew Doggett – 'I select subjects that are extraordinary to share the world’s beauty'
Orit Fuchs on her art
Meet the Artist
Orit Fuchs – ‘I come to the studio six days a week - and start dreaming!'
Alberto González Vivo talks about his art
Meet the Artist
Alberto González Vivo – 'I think if the work has the desired effect on me, it will have that effect on others'
5 things to look out for in the Celeste Dupuy-Spencer edition
Close Look
5 things to look out for in the Celeste Dupuy-Spencer edition
Lindsay August-Salazar on her inspirations, influences and ideals
Meet the Artist
Lindsay August-Salazar – “Art has the capacity to expand my deeper drive and interest in human expression'
Colleen Blackard - 'I want to build worlds to share'
Artist to Watch
Colleen Blackard - 'From an early age I found it easier to communicate with gestures and pictures than with words'
Bepi Ghiotti on his photographs of rivers and mountains
Meet the Artist
Bepi Ghiotti - 'An artwork is never still although what it represents might seem like it is'
Catherine Opie tells us how she got this amazing shot
Q&A
Catherine Opie tells us how she shot this powerful photograph at the first ever women's march
Meet the Artist
Rey Zorro - 'When we went on holiday we’d put chairs on the beach to look for UFOs in the night sky. This was normal at home; we never spoke about it as being ‘out of this world’
Meet the people behind Assembly
Meet the Dealer
Meet the people behind Assembly - a new kind of gallery
The Artspace Art for Life Interview with Adam Clayton
How I Collect
The Artspace Art for Life Interview with Adam Clayton
Celeste Dupuy-Spencer on her new Artspace edition
Artist to Watch
'I was really trying to paint what it feels like to be living in the fall of human civilization' - Celeste Dupuy-Spencer on her powerful new Artspace edition
William Eric Brown on the latest Artspace auction
Meet the Artist
‘I’m most comfortable in that state of unknowing - is it real or imagined?’ - William Eric Brown
TM Davy on his benefit auction contribution
Meet the Artist
'Unhappy and happy flow back and forth like a tide making art. I’m working to be OK with that' – TM Davy
Anthony Goicolea on his new Artspace Edition
Meet the Artist
'I am most inspired by those weird transitional moments or in-between states where things undergo metamorphosis' - Anthony Goicolea

Art 101

The Most Compelling Artists to Follow on Instagram

By

The Most Compelling Artists to Follow on Instagram

In 1976, there were more “photographs than bricks” in the world, according to the legendary photography curator John Szarkowski—and that was way before the emergence of mainstream social media. Now on Instagram alone, there are 20 billion shared photos, with 60 million posts a day and 8,500 likes per second. And it comes as no surprise that the most enthusiastic users of this image-disseminating network are artists.

Being acutely sensitive to the visual world around them—and equipped to record it—artists ranging from emerging talents to internationally famous figures have been uploading backstage documentation of their studio process, candid snapshots of their social lives, and the visual phenomena around them that catches their eye, be it artworks or artful food porn. Following their accounts sometimes provides intimate access to their creative process, and just as often is just plain fun. Here’s a roundup of some of the most engaging artists to follow.

Ai Weiwei – aiww
Alex Israel – alexisrael
Alex Prager – alexprager
Amie Dicke – amiedicke
Ana Bagayan – anabagayan
Andrea Blanch – andreablanch
Andrew Kuo – earlboykins
Anh Duong – anhduongart
Aris Moore – arismoore
Asif M. Farooq – oleasif
Assume Vivid Astro Focus – assumevividastrofocus
Barry McGee – barrymcgeeart
Becca Albee – beccaalbee
Betty Tompkins – bettytompkins
Brendan Fowler – brendanfowlerbrendanfowler
Brian Adam Douglas – elbowtoe
Brian Bress – brianbress
Christopher Anderson – christopherandersonphoto
Christopher Mir – christophermir
Colin Blakely – colinblakely
Damien Hirst – damienhirst
Dan Agam – danagam
Daniel Arsham – daniel_arsham
David Favrod – davidfavrod
Dor Guez– dorguez
Doug Aitken– dougaitkenworkshop
Dove Bradshaw – doveyd2000
Eddie Martinez – emart_inc
Elisabeth Condon – elisabethcondon
Enoc Perez – enocperez
Erik Parker – erikparkerstudio
Faile – faileart
Ferran Adria– ferranadria
Frank Benson – frankbensonstudio
Friedrich Kunath – friedrichkunath
Fulton Ryder – fulton_ryder
Gaia – gaiastreetart
Gary Baseman – garybaseman
Ghada Amer – ghadaamer
Hank Willis Thomas – hankwthomas
Hernan Bas – hernanbas
Inka Essenhigh – inkaessenhigh
JR – jr
Jayson Musson – jaysonmusson
Jeanette Hayes – jeanettehayes
Jeff Koons – Jeffkoonsofficial
Jeila Gueramian – jeilagueramian
Jen Stark – jenstark
Jeremy Kost – jeremykost
Jesper Just – jesperjust
Jessy Nite – jessynite
Jill Greenberg – jillmanipulator
Joe Andoe – joeandoe
Johannes VanDerBeek – johannesvdb
Jonas Bendiksen – jonasbendiksen
Jordan Wolfson – jordanmatthewwolfson
Jose Parla – joseparla
Josh Blackwell – joshblackwell
K8 Hardy – k8hardball
KAWS – kawsstudio
Kenny Scharf – kennyscharf
Kenya Robinson – kenya9
Korakrit Arunanondchai – kritbangkok
Kour Pour – kourpour
Kraggy – kraggy
Laura Buckley – ljbuckers
Laurie Simmons – lauriesimmons
Lawrence Gipe – lawrencegipe
Lyle Ashton Harris – lyleashtonharris
Margaret Lee – suede87
Marina Abramovic – hudsonmai
Mark Dion – markdionstudio
Maxi Cohen – maxicohen10013
Maya Hayuk – mayahayuk
Meghan Boody – meghanboody
Mickalene Thomas – mickalenethomas
Miya Ando – miyaando
Nathan Delinois – miaminate
Nicolas Lobo – nicolas_lobo
Nikki S. Lee – nikkislee
Olaf Breuning – obreuning
Olafur Eliasson – studioolafureliasson
Olek – oleknyc
Oliver Osborne – osbornoliver
Orly Genger – orlygenger
Oscar Murillo – labor57
Os Gemeos – osgemeos
Pamela Hanson – pamelahandsonstudio
Parker Ito – creamydreamy
Patrick McMullan – patrickmcmullan
Paul Octavious – pauloctavious
Renee Cox – reneecoxstudio
Retna – ironeyeretna
Richard Dupont – richarddupont
Richard Prince – richardprince4
Rivane Neueunschwander – rivaneneuenschwander
Robin Friend – robinfriendart
Roger Ballen – rogerballen
Romero Britto – romerobritto1
Ross Bleckner – rossbleckner
Rosson Crow – rossoncrow
Ross Simonini – rosssimonini
Ruben Ubiera – urbanruben
Ryan McGinness – mcginnessworks
Ryan McNamara – msryanmcnamara
Ryan Trecartin – ryantrecartin
Ry Rocklen – ryrocklen
Saber – saberawr
Samuel Borkson & Arturo Sandoval III – friendswithyou
Sanford Biggers– sanfordbiggers
Sarah Crowner – sarahcrowner
Scott Hove scotthove
Scott Reeder – professoroops
Sean Dack– seandack
Sebastian Black – sebbazillion
Shinique Smith – shiniquesmith
Stefan Bruggemann – stefanbruggemann
Steve McCurry – stevemccurryphoto
Subi Roberto – theartistsubi
Takashi Murakami – takashipom
Ted Gahl  tedgahl
Theaster Gates – theastergates
Thomas Dozol – thomasdozol
Todd Eberle – toddeberle
Todd Hido – toddhido
Tom Burr – burrtomburr
Toyin Odutola – obia_thethird
Trisha Brown – trishabrowncompany
Typoe – typoe
Vik Muniz – vikmuniz
Walter Robinson – walter10065
Wangechi Mutu – mutustudio
Zaruhy Sangochian – zaruhy
Zoe Crosher – zoecrosher

*Incidentally, Artspace has an Instagram account too—follow us at: artspace

DISCOVER

a treasure trove of fine art from the world's most renowned artists, galleries, museums and cultural institutions. We offer exclusive works you can't find anywhere else.

LEARN

through exclusive content featuring art news, collecting guides, and interviews with artists, dealers, collectors, curators and influencers.

BUY

authentic artworks from across the globe. Collecting with us means you're helping to sustain creative culture and supporting organizations that are making the world a better place.

CONNECT

with our art advisors for buying advice or to help you find the art that's perfect for you. We have the resources to find works that suit your needs.

INSIDER ACCESS TO THE WORLD'S BEST ART

Artspace offers you authentic, exclusive works from world-renowned artists, galleries, museums and cultural institutions. Collecting with us helps support creative culture while bringing you art news, interviews and access to global art resources.

  • COLLECT FROM 300+ GALLERIES & MUSEUMS